Classification of Anti-Depressant Drugs

In this post, we will list down the major classifications of the antidepressant drugs and then explain important features about them.

Classification of Anti-Depressant Drugs

Anti depressants are classified in the following categories (with example drugs).


A – Tricyclics

  1. Neutral: Imipramine, Dothiepin
  2. Sedative: Amitriptyline, Trimipramine, Doxepin
  3. Stimulant: Desipramine, Nortriptyline, Protriptyline, Mianserin

B – heterocyclics

Amoxapine, Maprotiline, Trazodone, Bupropion, Venlafaxine

C – Monoamine Oxidase Inhibitors

  1. Hydrazide derivatives: Phenelzine, Isocarboxazid
  2. Non-hydrazide derivatives: Tranylcypromine, Moclobemide

D – Sympathomimetic Stimulants

Dextroamphetamine, Methylamphetamine, Methylphenidate

E – Selective Serotonini Reuptake Inhibitors

Fluoxetine, Paroxetine, Sertaline.

Details about different classes of antidepressants

Let’s see individual class of antidepressant drugs and what’s unique about them.

Tricyclic antidepressants

Their overdose / toxicity can cause:

  • Respiratory depression
  • Hyperpyrexia (very high fever, above 106.1 F)
  • Prolonged QT interval
  • Convulsions
  • Coma
  • Cardiotoxicity, Na+ channel inhibition leading to arrhythmia

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *